Nostalgia

Sorry about the long time with no posting.  It’s been a busy weekend for me, with no time for lego blogging.  Malcolm and I have some exciting things planned for the future however, so stay tuned. 

The only lego-related news of the weekend was my partner buying me the Power Miners set 8961-1 “Crystal Sweeper” for my birthday.  It’s the first “modern” set I’ve got in quite a number of years, and though I’ll end up using it exclusively for mech parts, I thought I’d give it a go building it. 

It was actually a really nostalgic feeling, following the instructions and putting the thing together.  I was rusty at first, and it took me a while to get into the swing of it, but by the end, the thing was going together very quickly.  It’s a fun set, and I was impressed with the simple but effective design.  I couldn’t resist driving the thing around the floor of my lounge, as advertised, sweeping up crystals (the rock monster things, though, were a little harder for the sweeper to digest).  The set also has quite a number of useful small parts for mechs, so I was pleased from that perspective as well.  The good thing about buying sets, as opposed to individual parts, is that you end up with a lot of unusual pieces that you’d not otherwise have.  Finding synergies in the combination of unusual parts, and letting pieces combine in strange new ways is part of the magic of lego.  I don’t know what I’ll do with an orange motorcycle fairing just yet, but I look forward to finding out. 

If you see a lot more lime and orange in my future mech designs, you’ll know why.

Cheers,

Simon

Leave a Reply

